Fatal motor vehicle crashes were done by almost 2 percent after 2 years of large increases according to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. In 2017, 37,133 souls perished in motor vehicle crashes. Our roadways continue to be far too dangerous. Speeding, distracted driving and driving under the influence continue to be leading causes for fatal accidents. In addition, drug-impaired driving is a growing cause for traffic fatalities.Read More
Beginning October 1st, 2017, a new law will go into effect that will increase the age and weight requirement for car seats. In hopes of increasing child safety, Connecticut now joins seven other states who have adopted current recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).
The AAP is a strong proponent for child safety and has been advocating for years the need for updated safety measures for children and adolescents of all ages during travel. Years of research have ultimately proven the need to expand not only the age but also the weight range required for car seats.
Strengthening our state’s laws by requiring an approved restraint device at every level of a child’s age, height, and weight, should ultimately also reduce the number of injuries and deaths that occur due to an accident.
The following are the revised CT car seat law requirements (from NH Register):
- Any child who is under 2 years old or weighs less than 30 pounds, regardless of age, must be placed in a rear-facing child restraint
- A child between ages 2 and 4 or weighing between 30 and 39 pounds, regardless of age, must ride in either rear-facing or forward-facing child restraint
- A child age 5 to 7 or weighing 40 to 59 pounds, regardless of age, must sin in a rear-facing child restraint, forward-facing child restraint, or a booster seat secured by a lap-and-shoulder seat belt
- Any adolescent from 8 through 15 who weighs 60 pounds or more must use an approved child restraint system or safety seat belt
Previous state law only required a rear-facing child restraint device until age 1 or 20 pounds, and a booster seat until age 6 or 60 pounds.
The new law now closes a crucial gap previously missed for adolescents. A recent study by the CDC concluded that by increasing the booster seat requirement to 7 or 8 years of age instead of 6, decreased the rate of children who sustained fatal or incapacitating injuries in a car accident by about 17%.
That decrease and more is what local legislators hope to see over the next year in Connecticut.Read More
Our client injured in a Hartford, Connecticut car accident when a police officer, while on duty, elected to drive through a red light and crash into our client’s car. As a result of the collision, our client sustained numerous personal injuries. All drivers on our Connecticut roads are required to obey the traffic laws and drive safely including police officers. If a car accident has been caused by the negligence of a police officer, the injured person has the legal light to pursue a negligence claim against the police officer and the officer’s employer provided that written notice of the claim is filed with the town or city clerk within six (6) months of the accident.Read More
Starting in January 2015, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) will expand its workplace safety reporting rules. OSHA will require employers to notify the government within 24 hours every time a worker loses an eye, suffers an amputation, or gets admitted to the hospital with a work-related injury. This new rules replaces regulations that require employers to report only incidents resulting in 3 or more workers being hospitalized. Workplace deaths will continue to be reported within 8 hours. OSHA believes that by expanding the events that require reporting and by having the reporting posted online, employers will take additional steps to prevent injuries and provide a safer working environment.Read More
If a pedestrian has been injured in a Connecticut car accident and the car had no insurance, the pedestrian still has legal recourse to receive compensation for his injuries. Specifically, the injured pedestrian has claim for uninsured motorist benefits coverage under his own car insurance policy. Every Connecticut resident who purchases car insurance has uninsured motor benefits coverage. This coverage provides insurance in cases where the insured is injured by someone without car insurance.
When an uninsured motorist benefits claim is made, your insurance company then steps into the shoes of the tortfeasor – the driver that was at fault for the collision. In other words, your own insurance company takes an adversary position and will attempt to either defeat your claim entirely or minimize the monetary recovery. Consequently, it is in your best interest to retain an attorney and have the attorney pursue the underinsured motorist benefit claim on your behalf.
If you have an uninsured motorist benefits claims, our personal injury lawyers are here to help. Call us at 860-667-0839Read More